Poetry

Confessions of a Pessimist

And I care not for the world I left behind,

It’s a mad jungle anyway!

I’d be too happy to pay the price one has to pay,

To be owned, yet cast away.

I’d love to make some swings out of my shame,

And snowmen out of the cold pain I hate to befriend!

Some merry bonfires of vengeance set ablaze on broken vows,

And witness it all burn till the end.

I’ll toss them ‘feelings’ in the fire,

And watch the affections melt.

With the dying sparks of the barely lit twigs,

I’ll kindle some others instead!

Like ‘gratitude’ for the life I have,

And the reasons and means to live it.

And ‘enchantment’ for the glories of the universe,

Yet untouched by the perplexities of it.

I will fight for my own freedom if I have to,

Denounce the worldly ties some day.

For I know that I do not belong to the world I left behind,

It’s a mad, mad jungle, anyway!

Leave a Reply

